Deaf Society’s president appointed as new Disability Discrimination Commissioner

Error message

Deprecated function: Array and string offset access syntax with curly braces is deprecated in include_once() (line 14 of /home/mediacc/public_html/themes/engines/phptemplate/phptemplate.engine).
Monday, 9 May 2016 14:44pm

Last week, it was announced that the Deaf Society’s president and former CEO of People with Disability Australia and manager of the Australian Centre for Disability Law, Alastair McEwin will become the new Disability Discrimination Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission.

A head and shoulders photo of Alistair McEwin.  Image attribute: The Disability Council

Mr McEwin is taking the reins from Susan Ryan who is currently in the role at the Australian Human Rights Commission, along with being the Age Discrimination Commissioner since the departure of Graeme Innes in mid-2014. 

In addition to his role at the Deaf Society, Mr McEwin is the chairman of the Disability Council of NSW and is profoundly Deaf. One of his key focuses over the coming years will be the successful implementation of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

Furthemore, former Victorian senator Dr Kaye Patterson is the new Age Discrimination Commissioner and Edward Santow has been appointed Human Rights Commissioner

All three new appointments will serve a full five-year term in their new roles.

Top of page
Tags: News