Prize rewards best Australian websites: accessibility a key benchmark

Monday, 12 September 2011 12:33pm

Nominations for the 2011 McFarlane Prize for excellence in web design are now open. The prize, commemorating the web pioneer Noel McFarlane, aims to encourage best practice amongst Australia’s web professional community.

The McFarlane Prize is awarded to an Australian web professional or team for a website launched or significantly upgraded between 22 September 2010 and 23 September 2011. Entries are individually assessed based on four judging criteria: accessibility, usability, design and coding. Past winners include Swinburne University of Technology and Museum Victoria.

Sarah Pulis, Manager of Digital Media and Technology for Media Access Australia, is the accessibility judge for 2011.

“It’s fantastic to see accessibility rewarded as an essential element of good design and coding practice,” said Pulis. “Not only does accessibility open up websites to people with disabilities, it also enhances general usability and SEO.”

Nominations close 23 September 2011. The announcement of the winner of the 2011 McFarlane Prize will be made at the Web Directions South conference.

Top of page